misskeks

A girl. A journey. A new start.

The journey begins….

Sunset on Candolim beach sitting at Club 21

Sunset on Candolim beach sitting at Club 21

This is in my opinion one of the most beautiful beaches in Goa.

Sunset at Morjim beach – in my opinion, one of the most beautiful beaches in Goa.

So here I am at last. It has taken me almost 6 weeks of bad internet and “which blog is best” consulting to get this up. And as you can see, no real visual content yet. You can blame the bandwidth here; not me. Even though I have to admit that my photographic skills are not the best. So when you do eventually start seeing some pictures, don’t expect the next great thing:-).

My journey begins in Goa, India.

All I would really like to share with you is how I came here, what I experience here and where that takes me to.

I arrived in Goa on 8th May 2013. I had all these visions of incomprehensible beauty that everyone who has been here speaks about.
The first thing that hit me was the Goa airport toilet. I have (or shall I rather say; at the time I had never) never seen a toilet so foreign to visual hygiene in my life. One can only imagine what that means about the hidden germs.
The second thing that hit me was the heat. I was expecting that so it didn’t make headlines with me.
The third thing was the driving etiquette. I wish in all the stories I had heard about the wonderful Goa, someone had been honest enough to tell me that they drive like maniacs. Then I would have at least prepared my heart and nerves for the ‘joy ride’. For those of you who live in South Africa, the taxi drivers we moan about would not stand a chance here….and mind you….I am likening them to what we call cab drivers here. These guys are cab drivers and they drive you at a safety level of ‘quarter-to-death’.
The fourth and final thing that hit me that day was the hotel – Coquerial Resort in Candolim Beach. People tell you either overwhelmingly beautiful stuff about India or they tell you the complete opposite…the horrors. If you want to know all about naysayers, just tell anyone you are going to India and you’ll get it:). Everyone warned about how the hotels lie and false advertise….as if this only happens in India. So even as positive as I tried to be, I was a little nervous that I may OR may not have been conned. To my delight, Coquerial Resort was exactly what I was sold and the service was nothing but outstanding. Thanks to Mr Alex, the hotel manager.

It’s a little hard to share everything that happened in the last weeks in one or two posts. So what I will do is share what I can and as I journey along with you, I will reflect back. For the next week you will be getting a post every day or every second day depending on the Internet situation. This is to just catch you up on everything to date. Thereafter I’ll slow down:-).

This may be somewhat amusing, so buckle up.

Please feel free to ask me to write on any topics that you may have an interest in.

Signing out.
Miss Keks

9 comments on “The journey begins….

  1. Tae
    June 17, 2013

    Looking forward to more chomi:-)

  2. Samy Cox
    June 17, 2013

    Its good to have someone with an objective eye out there to unveil the truth for the rest of us. Now that you have been brave enough to take on the task of being the guinea pig for us and that you promise to document everything while you at it, our gratitude is without limit. Thanks missK. Stay safe. – Samy Cox

  3. stofilesive
    June 17, 2013

    This is great Keks.
    Looking forward to reading more and experiencing the journey with you.

    S

    • misskeks
      June 17, 2013

      Thanks Siv. This week you will be quite a journey. Stay tuned. Please feel free to give suggestions and ask for any specific topics you may be interested in. πŸ™‚

  4. Nolitha Sithole
    June 17, 2013

    Hey Keke, I cannot wait to read more. I am looking forward to hearing about the Indian hunks that were hitting on you (hahaha)!

    • misskeks
      June 17, 2013

      Noli, then blog 3 will be your favorite….wait until tomorrow. You’ll have to hold onto your seat for this one:-)

  5. Bongani Ntsele
    June 18, 2013

    DELICIOUS.I love that each blog is light and not packed with too much stuff, makes for such easy and delightful end-of-the-day reading. Can’t wait to live through you kids πŸ˜‰

    • misskeks
      June 18, 2013

      Thanks Bongs. Today’s blog will blow your socks off.

  6. Lyton
    June 18, 2013

    I Love this – Can’t wait for the next ones. xoxo!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2013 by .

Navigation

